Sedgewood Tax District

Purpose: The purposes and functions of the Sedgewood Community Special Tax District shall be to provide for the health, safety and welfare within the district by installing and maintaining streetlights.

Enabling Legislation: Pursuant to S.C. Code 1976, § 4-9-30(5)(c), (Ord. No. 229, § 1, 9-18-1995) (Ord. No. 229, §5, 9-18-1995; Ord. No. 239, 10-7-1996)

A majority of the freeholders in the proposed Sedgewood Community Special Tax District submitted a petition to the county council requesting that there be created a special tax district to define the boundaries of the district and the purposes for which it is created and to authorize the Sedgewood Community Tax District Commission to levy sufficient millage to have the street lights installed and maintained on all property located within the boundaries of the proposed district. The petition of the freeholders has been certified as containing more than 75 percent of the freeholders owning at least 75 percent of the assessed district.

There is created the Sedgewood Community Special Tax District, the boundaries of which are fully described as follows:

That portion of Sedgewood Subdivision as recorded in the office of the register of mesne conveyance for the county in plat book 20, at page 591, which lies within the county and as shown on the plat being the northern portion of the property, the plat being attached to and incorporated in this section by reference.

There is created for the Sedgewood Community Special Tax District a five-member governing body to be known as the Sedgewood Community Tax District Commission, consisting of two members appointed by the Pickens County Council; two members appointed by the Anderson County Council; and one member nominated by the four appointees elected by the Pickens County Council and the Anderson County Council. Members shall serve terms of three years or until their successors are duly appointed and qualified; except for the initial appointments one appointee from each county will serve terms of three years, one will serve terms of two years, and one jointly nominated and elected will serve a term of one year. All members of the commission shall reside within the geographical boundaries of the special tax district. Vacancies on the commission will be filled by the county council of their residence for the remainder of the unexpired term.

The commission shall be responsible for maintaining and operating the Sedgewood Community Special Tax District in accordance with the purposes set forth in section 36-113. At its organizational meeting, the commission shall elect a chairman and such other officers as it deems necessary. The commission shall adopt its own rules and operating procedures.

The auditor and tax collector of the county are directed to levy and collect a millage to have the streetlights installed and maintained on an annual basis on all taxable real property within the special tax district. All moneys collected from this tax levy shall be credited to the district.